top of page
Writer's pictureNatasha Shituvi

DECOLONISE, BE FREE!



Dear Reader,

I feel like somewhat of a hypocrite writing this. Not only because I am writing in English like a British discoverer on his way to ruin the life of millions of people on a continent, but also because of the fact that my unwavering display and love for my Kenyan culture is somewhat recent. I remember a time, a few years ago, when, I, just like many modern day Africans, used to be in disdain of everything African. When I thought-*shudders*- that the West was better. That we should try our best to emulate white people’s success. It was a tough time for my identity.

What changed my view? Moving to an international school. When you’re put in a position where you’re literally forced to hang onto your identity, pride comes ever so easily. This is why most African immigrants in the West rep the continent more than us who are LITERALLY in the Motherland.

That was the Europeans’ biggest lie. A lie that we hold onto to this day. That our ancestors’ way of living was inferior. That we were uncivilised (even thought we taught them how to wash themselves, search it up!). We were held in captivity, tortured and stripped of our culture, all in the name of “civilisation”.Capitalism forced onto us with no means to escape.Our value decreased to nothing but money and labour. Now we ever exist yearning to be seen as their equals. And to that I say “TO HELL”. Our culture was ours. It was not poverty and never shall be.

As we adopted, -by that I mean it was forced to us through violence and slavery-, the European culture, we took with it their expectations. Capitalism, industrialisation, colourism, I’m even surprised we never lost our rhythm. This limbo that we find ourself in, is an absolute tragedy and makes our continent look inauthentic. Our westernised clothes don’t mix with our huts and pastoralism (I will NEVER be ashamed of them). We just look poor to the rest of the world. Because of the standard THEY have set. The ancestors lived in a community, life was simple and everyone was taken care of. Now here we are, always crying because of the plight of poverty.

I look with wonder at how they did it. How did the ancestors make some of the richest functioning civilisations? And how do we get back there? Let us not stand for the approval of the white man. We do not need their approval. This is not the 1900s. We deserve respect because we are human, not because we can speak English and dress in their clothes.

Brothers and sisters, this is our home. This is Africa! Let us learn our worth, celebrate our identity and continue the culture. We shall no longer be pawns for the West to gather funds, rather we shall be our own future. I yearn for a future where we shall wear Afros in international spaces, when Afrobeats will be dissected in classrooms, when I shall say goodbye to the European clothing and be free. Free to wear our colourful garments and the world be in awe of our peace and harmony

My brothers and sisters, be Black, be bold and be African.



Freedom Is Coming - Khanyo Maphumulo (Sarafina)




59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page